New Jersey Car Insurance
Welcome to the diner capital of the world. In addition to having the most diners in the world, New Jersey also has the most shopping malls in one area in the world, with seven major shopping malls in a 25-mile radius. The state shares a border with the Atlantic coast, one that spans over 120 miles in length. New Jersey is known for its preserved buildings, beautiful nature, and laid-back personality.
To enjoy the state of New Jersey, you will want to have the ability to drive legally. In order to do so, you will need to meet the minimum car insurance requirements in New Jersey. If you do not, you will be subject to penalties and fines if you are caught operating a motor vehicle in the state. The tools you need to find the cheapest rates for car insurance are available here on this website, or you can get free quotes for car insurance on the top auto insurance policies available.
Auto Insurance Requirements In New Jersey
New Jersey has thousands of roadways, and to legally drive on them you will need to be carrying the minimum requirements for automobile insurance coverage in the state. Whether you are driving from the Gateway Region to Delaware Valley or Skyland’s, or anywhere else in the state, you want to be protected from penalties and fees, in addition to costs that can stem from being in an automobile accident.
The minimum requirements for automobile insurance coverage in the state of New Jersey include $15,000 for bodily injury coverage per person per accident, $30,000 of bodily injury coverage for all persons per accident, and $5,000 property damage liability coverage per accident. Also, you will need to have $15,000 per person per accident for uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage and $30,000 per accident in uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage. Also, drivers need to cover uninsured/underinsured motorist property damage coverage in the amount of $5,000 per accident with a $500 deductible.
New Jersey does not require people to carry additional coverage such as collision, comprehensive, or lease gap insurance. If you are leasing or financing your car, however, the leasing or financing company may require that you have these types of insurance coverages in the terms of your contract.
Average Cost Of Coverage In New Jersey
The cost, on average, for car insurance in New Jersey is above the average price for car insurance in the United States by a decent amount. Because of this, you will want to look into ways to save money on automobile insurance in New Jersey. Finding the best car insurance premium prices in New Jersey starts with comparison-shopping, but you will also want to know what the cheapest car insurance companies in the state are.
Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in New Jersey
Some of the cheapest auto insurance companies in the state of New Jersey include Geico, progressive, and NJM. There are a number of other auto insurance companies that should be looked into as well, including Allstate and Mercury. Each car insurance provider uses different statistics in different ways in order to determine a person’s automobile insurance rates.
A person’s driving record, as well as the make, year, and model their car was made, can have an impact on what they pay for automobile insurance. Also, the location and city a person is living in can affect rates. Some cities in New Jersey are more expensive than others, which is the next thing to explore.
Cheapest Car Insurance In New Jersey By City
Some of the lower cost cities to get automobile insurance in the state of New Jersey include Basking Ridge, Bridgewater, Flemington, Lawrence Township, Middletown, Mount Laurel, and Point Pleasant Beach.
Most Expensive Car Insurance In New Jersey By City
On the more expensive and of the spectrum include Jersey City, Newark, Patterson, and Elizabeth. There are numerous ways that people can save money on car insurance, which will be covered later in the article, so keep reading.
Laws, Rules And Penalties In New Jersey
Drivers in New Jersey are required to carry proof of insurance on them when they are driving, any time they are operating a motor vehicle. If a law-enforcement officer asks you to see it when you are pulled over by them or in a car accident, you are required to present it. Fines and penalties for not providing proof of insurance can include fees of up to $300-$1,000 or more for the first offense, and you also risk losing your driver’s license for up to one year.
In addition, first-time offenders are required to pay surcharges of $250 each year for the following three years. The second defense includes higher fees, potential jail time, and community service is also a possibility. A person’s driver’s license can also be suspended for two years or more during the second offense or subsequent offenses.
How To Save Money On Car Insurance In New Jersey
Saving money on car insurance starts with shopping around, and the tools for doing so are here on this site. Get free quotes for auto insurance plans and find the top car insurance policies to fit your needs. Make sure to check out potential discounts that are available for you with each company as well. The free quote process here will help.