New Hampshire Car Insurance
The first potato ever planted in the United States was planted in New Hampshire. It is also the home of the first free public library in the United States. Though the state's motto is “Live Free or Die,” there are still rules that need to be followed when it comes to automobile insurance. In every one of the ten counties, 13 municipalities, 221 towns, and 22 unincorporated places in the state, automobile insurance must be purchased to drive legally on the roadways.
New Hampshire has minimum requirements for automobile insurance for driving legally, with severe penalties to people who decide to drive without car insurance coverage.
Auto Insurance Requirements In New Hampshire
The state of New Hampshire requires that drivers hold minimum amounts for a few different types of automobile insurance plans. Requiring more types of insurance than many other states, bodily injury liability coverage, property damage liability coverage, medical payments insurance, and uninsured motorist bodily injury covered are all required to drive in the state legally. New Hampshire has minimum limits for bodily injury coverage in the amounts of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident. Also, property damage coverage is required, in the amounts of $25,000 per accident.
While most states require liability coverage, many states do not require medical payments coverage to be purchased in order to drive. Medical payments coverage in New Hampshire is required with minimum limits of $1,000 per person. Also, uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage is required in the amounts of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
Average Cost Of Coverage In New Hampshire
Fortunately for drivers living in the state of New Hampshire, the average insurance premium costs for policies are over 20% less than the average in the United States. Coming in at just over $1,000 per year, drivers in New Hampshire also get more coverage than the minimum limits in many other states. Auto insurance rates are dictated by other variables as well, not just the geographic location a person is living in. The policyholders marital status, credit rating, driving history, age, and gender, all play roles in determining costs. There are other variables to be considered as well, and each automobile insurance provider uses different formulas involving all of these factors. This means that different auto insurance providers offer different rates for car insurance in New Hampshire than others.
Cheapest Car Insurance Companies In New Hampshire
New Hampshire, also known as the Granite State, has over 30,000 miles of roads that can be utilized to visit family, friends, workplaces, and loved ones. Before you drive in the state, however, you will need to purchase a coverage plan for auto insurance. Some of the lower-cost companies in the state include Concorde, Travelers, USAA, and Amica.
Cheapest Car Insurance In New Hampshire By City
People who are looking to move to New Hampshire will be well advised to consider insurance rates in the city they are living in. This includes homeowners insurance rates, life insurance rates, and car insurance rates. Some of the cities that have the lowest auto insurance premiums on average include Keene, Concord, Lebanon, and Hanover.
Most Expensive Car Insurance In New Hampshire By City
Some of the more expensive cities to purchase car insurance plans in are Manchester, Salem, Kingston, and Windham. Salem has much higher car insurance rates on average, even in comparison to the other more expensive places to purchase policies in the state. Keep in mind that each city neighborhood can have different average rates as well. For people moving to a new city, looking into insurance rates before purchasing can help save money overall.
Laws, Rules, And Penalties In New Hampshire
One of the unique elements New Hampshire has in terms of automobile insurance is that drivers are not required by law to have financial responsibility proof for any accidents they have. Financial responsibility is only required in the state if you are convicted of certain violations or meet specific conditions. There are strict penalties when a registered motorist is caught without proof of insurance in an accident, however.
If a person is caught without proof of insurance or other financial responsibility while in a traffic accident, they can lose their driving privileges. This brings fees and processes in order to reinstate the license. Even though it is not required by law, it is both smarter and more safe to purchase liability insurance coverage to have on your vehicle in case you are in an accident.
How To Save Money On Car Insurance In New Hampshire
The best way to save money on car insurance is to compare rates from multiple companies. Start with the cheapest car insurance companies, but keep in mind that each company weighs variables differently. This means you may find the best rates for automobile insurance with a company that is not known to be the cheapest overall in the state. Also, take advantage of auto insurance discounts that car insurance providers give. Deductibles can be utilized as a tool to help save more money on car insurance premiums, but make sure you can afford the deductible that you select.