Maine Car Insurance
A state of natural beauty, where people come to camp, live, and enjoy the scenery, Maine brings people together for many other reasons as well. The operation of a vehicle in Maine requires that the driver has car insurance. The law requires that people provide proof of insurance to register their vehicle, if they are pulled over, or if they are involved in an accident. Take some time to figure out what amount of coverage you will need to protect your assets. Automobile insurance requirements for Maine include liability insurance coverage and medical payments coverage. Also, Maine requires uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage in its laws.
To ensure that you are driving legally in the state, make sure you have a valid insurance plan at all times and are able to provide proof of insurance when needed. Here, you can find the best companies to get free insurance quotes from to find the best rates for car insurance available.
Auto Insurance Requirements In Maine
There are requirements for liability insurance coverage, which covers damage related to damage to other people and/or other people’s property when you are found to be at fault in an accident. Bodily injury liability coverage has a minimum required amount of $50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident. Also, $25,000 for property damage liability coverage is required. Drivers can also get a Combined Single Limit policy of $125,000, which also satisfies the minimum limit requirement in the state.
Another type of insurance that is required in the state of Maine is medical payments coverage. The minimum amount of coverage accepted by law is $2,000 per person. This coverage helps pay for expenses that are medical in nature and are incurred by you and your passengers. It pays out regardless of who is at fault in the accident. Higher limits can also be available for an additional cost.
Uninsured motorist coverage and underinsured motorist coverage are also required by law in the state of Maine. The minimum amounts required are $50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident. This coverage protects you and your passengers if other drivers are responsible for an accident and do not have insurance, or do not have enough insurance, to cover your expenses.
Average Cost Of Coverage In Maine
Average costs for car insurance in Maine are less than the national average by over 30%. Some people will have higher rates than the average, while others will have lower premiums than average in the state. This is due to the numerous variables that are considered when car insurance companies determine what premium costs will be for each person’s unique situation. Factors like a person’s driving record, sex, age, marital status, and credit history can all play roles in determining these costs.
Cheapest Car Insurance Companies In Maine
A great place to start when looking for automobile insurance coverage in Maine is with the least expensive companies on average. These include companies like Geico, Patriot Insurance, Vermont Mutual, and others.
Cheapest Car Insurance In Maine By City
Some cities are lower in cost on average than others in the state of Maine. Some of the cheapest auto insurance rates can be found in the towns of Presque Isle, Caribou, Houlton, and Falmouth.
Most Expensive Car Insurance In Maine By City
On the other end of the spectrum are cities that have the highest insurance costs. These include cities like Lewiston, Stonington, Ellsworth, and Blue Hill. Depending on a person’s driving record and the neighborhood in each of these cities a person resides in, rates can be higher or lower than the average for each particular city.
Laws, Rules, And Penalties In Maine
Each time a person is caught driving without insurance in Maine comes with an array of possible penalties. Fines no less than $100 and not more than $500 will be administered. Also, a person’s driving license will be suspended until valid proof of insurance is provided. If a person fails to surrender their registration and license after it has been suspended, an additional $2,000 fee is administered. There are also reinstatement requirements in order to begin driving again. The proper paperwork must be maintained for three years after each offense. Also, people can face up to six months in prison for failure to surrender their driver’s license and registration after it has been suspended.
How To Save Money On Car Insurance In Maine
You can save money in multiple ways on auto insurance plans. One of the most significant ways that people can save is comparing car insurance rates from multiple companies. Each company uses a different formula to determine rates, meaning some companies can be quite a bit less costly than others for certain individuals. Also, look at your deductibles and make sure that they are in the right place. Discounts are also available for drivers that meet specific criteria, another great way to spend less on car insurance.