Louisiana Car Insurance
Many people head to Louisiana for the Mardi Gras, to visit family, and to meet up with friends. For people who are living in the state; however, awareness about the requirements for driving legally is imperative. There are minimum requirements mandated by law for people who want to operate in the state. Insurance is necessary not only to drive in the state but also to register your vehicle there. The minimum limits for insurance are designed to help pay for costs you are responsible for if harm or damage comes to other people, their cars, or their property, in an accident you are deemed to be at fault for.
Auto Insurance Requirements In Louisiana
If you are pulled over in the state of Louisiana, you have to present proof of automobile insurance to the officer. In most cases, this is fulfilled by your insurance ID card. Many people also use a copy of their policy or copy of the declaration page on their plan to satisfy this requirement. This information must be presented if you are in an accident.
Driving legally in Louisiana means that you must have the required amount of car insurance coverages. Louisiana requires that people have minimum limits for bodily injury coverage in the amounts of $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident. Other minimum requirements for insurance in the state include property damage liability coverage in the amounts of $25,000 per accident.
Many people choose to purchase more than the minimum amounts of coverage. As a driver, you are responsible for costs associated with an accident that you are at fault for. If these expenses are more than the limits you have purchased; you will end up paying for these costs out-of-pocket. Also, keep in mind that liability insurance coverage does not cover costs associated with your medical bills or damage to your vehicle or property. There are other types of insurance coverage, which are not required, that assist with these expenses if needed.
Average Cost Of Coverage In Louisiana
On average, Louisiana is much more expensive in terms of car insurance premiums than the national average in the US. With an average cost per year of $2,250, people are always looking for ways to save money on their auto insurance premiums. Remember that many variables are used to determine insurance coverage premium costs, including a person’s driving record, credit score, gender, age, and more.
By working to keep a good driving record and credit score, people can end up paying lower rates for their car insurance plans.
Cheapest Car Insurance Companies In Louisiana
Numerous auto insurance companies provide insurance in the state of Louisiana. Some offer policies to low mileage drivers as a specialization, others cater to drivers with good records, and others cater to numerous other variables. Some of the companies that can be consistently seen on lists of the lowest cost auto insurance providers in Louisiana include Farm Bureau, Progressive Insurance, State Farm, and Allstate.
Cheapest Car Insurance In Louisiana By City
Besides a person’s driving record, numerous other factors are considered when it comes to premium costs, like location. In Louisiana, this includes cities like Minden, Bossier City, Shreveport, and Haughton. Each of these cities is lower than average for the state. Numerous cities are higher than average as well, but remember that no matter what city you are in, you can save money through comparison-shopping and auto insurance discounts.
Most Expensive Car Insurance In Louisiana By City
Some of the more expensive cities in the state included New Orleans, Harvey, Marrero, and Gretna. These cities are all in the higher bracket in terms of costs. Different neighborhoods in each of these cities, however, can vary in terms of price. Some neighborhoods in New Orleans are less expensive than others, as an example. Many of these cities have averages of $2,800 or more for premiums. Due to these expenses, some people choose to live in a suburb rather than in the city itself.
Laws, Rules, And Penalties In Louisiana
Before a person can drive legally in the state of Louisiana, they need to have an auto insurance plan. Without having one, drivers can face not only fines, license suspension, registration suspension, and vehicle impoundment, but they can also face reinstatement fees and other hurdles to getting their driving license back. It is also possible for people to be barred from making claims for losses and collision accidents with their insurance company.
How To Save Money On Car Insurance In Louisiana
Use the tools on this site to save money on automobile insurance. Getting free quotes from car insurance companies and comparing them is one of the best ways to save. Take the least expensive car insurance companies in the state and analyze rates, but also look at the customer service they provide and their financial stability. Take advantage of any discounts that you qualify for as well, to keep even more money in your bank account.