Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Tennessee
Carrying the minimum limits for car insurance coverage in the state of Tennessee is extremely important, not only to protect yourself from the massive expenses that can come from being in an automobile accident, but also because the state of Tennessee mandates minimum limits for automobile insurance in the state. The state requires that drivers carry bodily injury liability insurance in the amount of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident. Uninsured motorist bodily injury liability coverage in the same amounts is required for uninsured motorist bodily coverage. Uninsured motorist bodily coverage can be rejected in writing. In addition, $15,000 of property damage liability coverage must be carried.
Penalties For Driving Without Insurance
The penalties for driving without insurance are steep in the state of Tennessee, and there are also different penalties that can be given for people who fail to provide proof of insurance. Failing to have insurance while driving can lead to penalties like fines and fees, driver’s license suspension, registration suspension, restoration fees, and fees to the commissioner of safety in the state.
There are also penalties for driving without insurance, which includes fines and fees, including restoration fees, as well as possible driver’s license suspension, a requirement to take a driver’s license examination again, and the requirement to file and carry an SR-22 certificate. More specific information on these fines and penalties, in addition to other consequences, can be found below.
Penalties For A First Offense
Failure to provide proof of insurance can result in a $25 coverage failure fee after 15 days. After that, a $100 continued coverage failure fee is applied after each additional 30 days. By showing proof of insurance, you can limit the number of fees assessed.
More severe penalties, for people who are driving without insurance policies in the state of Tennessee. This can include more fees, which start at $300. In addition, a person’s driver’s license and registration can be suspended until insurance proof is provided and they retake a driver’s license examination.
Penalties for Second Offenses
For people who are having their second offense, the penalties get a little bit steeper for failure to provide proof of insurance. An increase in fines, as well as the possibility of having to carry an SR-22 certificate for the next three years, are also possibilities.
Everything listed in both the first offense and second offense sections listed above applies here, and the penalties can get more severe than that as well. It is also important to remember that there are other expenses related to driving with no insurance policy too.
Penalties For Driving Without Insurance In An Accident
In addition to harsher penalties and increased risk of driver’s license and registration suspension, as well as increased risk of having to carry an SR-22 certificate, there are other costs that can come from being in an automobile accident with no insurance. Drivers can be held liable for the medical bills of other people, as well as damages to their property, which insurance would normally cover if the driver had it.
To prevent having to pay these large expenses, depleting your bank account, having an auto insurance policy is a smart plan. Make sure to take advantage of the free quotes for car insurance that are available on this site, and when you are comparing policies, make sure the policies you are comparing have the same coverage amounts.
In addition, it is important to consider the customer service quality and financial strength of the companies you are looking to purchase auto insurance policies from. Every few years, it is smart to reassess your auto insurance needs and compare prices from different companies.
Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Washington
One of the major concerns that people have is not having enough money in their bank account. Sometimes life can be a struggle, but major exp...
Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Massachusetts
Massachusetts is a place that many people go to raise their families. It is one of the smaller states in the country but is known worldwide....
Penalties for Driving without Insurance in New York
New York is not one of the cheapest car insurance states, and the state also has pretty severe penalties for people who do not meet the mini...
Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Georgia
Like every other state, Georgia has minimum requirements in terms of how much car insurance drivers must have in order to legally drive in t...
Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Oklahoma
People do not like consequences, but it is extremely important that drivers have an automobile insurance policy when driving in the state of...