Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Pennsylvania
In Pennsylvania, whether you are a resident or not, you are required to carry an automobile insurance policy if you are going to be operating a motor vehicle in the state. Before purchasing a car insurance policy in Pennsylvania, it is important to know laws and legal requirements for driving in the state. The best place to do that is with the tools here on this website, starting with this article.
Here, you can learn the penalties for driving with no insurance policy in the state of Pennsylvania, which can help you make sure that you have the minimum legal requirements met for driving in the state. In addition, knowing which types of insurance policies and the amounts of coverage you need for each is vital.
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance
Penalties for driving in Pennsylvania with no insurance include tickets, other fines, license suspension, vehicle impounding, and other consequences can arise as well. The minimum requirements for driving in the state of Pennsylvania legally are $15,000 for injury or death to one person in an accident, $30,000 for injury or death of more than one person in an accident, and $5,000 in property damage liability coverage to cover damage to the property of another person that is caused by an accident.
In addition to penalties, many other expenses can come from driving without an automobile insurance policy. If you are found at fault in a car crash and do not have auto insurance coverage, you can be held liable for the damages from the accidents.
Penalties For A First Offense
Penalties for the first offense in violation of the minimum requirements for automobile insurance in the state generally include tickets and fines. The severity of penalties can vary based on the situation surrounding the offense, however. Keep in mind that it is only the minimum requirements for car insurance listed above that must be met. There are many other types of automobile insurance that people purchase to protect themselves further, but those are not required.
Penalties For Second Offenses
With each following offense, not only is it likely that your automobile insurance rates will go up, but the fines, fees, and other penalties associated with driving without insurance will also be more severe. Keep in mind that operating a motor vehicle, even while you have a temporary lapse in coverage, can lead to consequences.
Expect to pay more money with each following offense, and also be risking your driver’s license being revoked, your car being impounded, or worse.
As multiple offenses pile on, people can be looking at longer driver’s license suspensions, driver registrations expenses, and more.
Penalties For Driving Without Insurance In An Accident
The costs for driving without insurance in an accident are not just limited to fines, fees, and other penalties. In addition, drivers can be responsible for damages to other people, their passengers, in their vehicles, if found at fault in an accident.
Due to this, many people decide to get other types of car insurance coverage beyond the minimums required by state law. Other types of automobile insurance coverage include collision coverage, comprehensive coverage, lease gap insurance, personal injury protection, and numerous others. Each type of these insurance coverages helps protect drivers in different situations; some of them will provide financial protection even to drivers who are found at fault in an automobile accident.
Another type of car insurance coverage to consider is uninsured motorist coverage. This insurance coverage helps provide financial protection if you are in an accident that somebody else was found at fault for, but they do not have adequate automobile insurance coverage to cover the associated expenses.
Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Minnesota
Minnesota requires all people driving in the state to be able to show proof of financial responsibility when requested by law enforcement of...
Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Oklahoma
People do not like consequences, but it is extremely important that drivers have an automobile insurance policy when driving in the state of...
Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Indiana
The penalties in Indiana are designed to be steep so that people will be motivated to get automobile insurance. This means that the penaltie...
Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Tennessee
Carrying the minimum limits for car insurance coverage in the state of Tennessee is extremely important, not only to protect yourself from t...
Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Texas
Under Texas law, it is illegal for a person to drive a motor vehicle without proof of financial responsibility. In most cases, people get au...