Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Ohio
Like most other states, Ohio has minimum limits for car insurance plans that are required by drivers for them to drive legally in the state. Driving without insurance in the state of Ohio comes with steep fines and penalties, and knowing them is important to preventing them. This article has the information you need to know about the minimum limit requirements for insurance in the state of Ohio, as well as the penalties for driving with no insurance policy in the state.
In addition to the penalties for driving without insurance coverage in Ohio, there are many other risks that drivers are taking without an adequate automobile insurance plan. The liability expenses that people have to pay if they are found at fault in an accident can be incredibly high. With expenses that can be up to $10,000, $20,000, $50,000 or more, driving without an automobile insurance plan can have a huge negative impact on a person’s life.
Penalties For Driving Without Insurance
The minimum requirements for driving legally in the state of Ohio, according to the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles, is $25,000 of coverage for bodily injury liability coverage for one person in an accident and $50,000 for bodily injury liability coverage for all persons per accident. Drivers must also carry $25,000 in property damage liability coverage per accident. Many drivers decide to get additional coverage, including coverage of these auto insurance types in larger amounts, as well as different types of car insurance plans to help them stay protected in case an accident or other covered situation occurs.
Additional policies that can be purchased include collision insurance coverage, comprehensive insurance coverage, lease gap insurance coverage, uninsured motorist coverage, underinsured motorist coverage, and each of these additional types can also be beneficial. Some people purchase roadside assistance coverage in case they get a flat tire, run out of gas, or lock keys in their car. Penalties for not having car insurance coverage, however, only come from not carrying the minimum limits required by law.
Penalties for A First Offense
It is illegal to drive any motor vehicle without proof of insurance or other proof of financial responsibility in the state of Ohio. Drivers must maintain a valid insurance plan through the period of time their car is registered for. Drivers will receive a ticket, and addition to having to pay reinstatement fees for the first time they are caught driving without insurance.
Penalties For Second Offenses
The second time a person is caught driving without insurance can lead to higher fees and additional penalties. If a person has been caught a second time, or more, without having a valid insurance policy, the penalties for subsequent offenses can also apply.
Subsequent offenses for car insurance, after the first, can result in higher fees and penalties, a loss of driving privileges, suspension of a person’s license plates and their vehicle registration, costs related to driver’s license reinstatement, the impounding of the drivers vehicle, and up to a five-year suspension of vehicle registrations.
In addition, there can be other penalties for driving without insurance and also having a DUI or DWI conviction.
Penalties For Driving Without Insurance In An Accident
Driving without insurance in the state of Ohio can also lead to much higher expenses that come from legal representation and penalties paid out to the other drivers if you are found at fault in a car crash. With expenses that can range into the tens of thousands of dollars or more, driving without an automobile insurance policy can be very expensive in the long run.
Penalties for Driving without Insurance in North Carolina
People who are caught driving with no insurance policy in North Carolina will face fines, fees, and possible jail time. The North Carolina M...
Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Colorado
Most states have a requirement for drivers to show proof of insurance when it is requested in certain situations. Not being able to provide...
Penalties for Driving without Insurance in South Carolina
Not having a car insurance plan has had major negative impacts on many people’s lives. In addition to possibly being found guilty of a...
Penalties for Driving without Insurance in New York
New York is not one of the cheapest car insurance states, and the state also has pretty severe penalties for people who do not meet the mini...
Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Missouri
Whenever you are driving in the state of Missouri, make sure that the car is insured to help protect yourself financially. It does not matte...