Penalties for Driving without Insurance in North Carolina
People who are caught driving with no insurance policy in North Carolina will face fines, fees, and possible jail time. The North Carolina Motor Vehicle Safety and Financial Responsibility Act requires that owners of registered vehicles and motor vehicles of certain types must carry specific minimum amounts of car insurance coverage to drive legally in the state. The mandated amounts for car insurance in North Carolina include $30,000 for bodily injury liability coverage per person, $60,000 for bodily injury liability insurance per accident, and $25,000 in property damage liability coverage.
Penalties For Driving Without Insurance
Auto insurance providers in the state of North Carolina are required to notify the states DMV of coverage has been canceled or lapsed. If you are pulled over, you will also be asked for proof of insurance at traffic stops, as well as at the scene of an accident. For people who have lapses in their insurance policy coverage, fines and fees that range from $50-$150 or more can be given.
If this happens, you will have ten days to give the DMV proof of insurance or to present to them a new insurance policy after the lapse. Because of the classification of the misdemeanor of driving with no insurance in the state, jail time and probation are also possible penalties. The penalties that are given for driving without insurance vary depending on the number of offenses that have previously occurred.
Penalties For A First Offense
Penalties for the first offense of driving with no insurance in North Carolina include a civil penalty of $50 and a license reinstatement fee of $50. In addition, a person’s registration can be suspended for 30 days, and up to 45 days of probation can be given. Additional violations of car insurance law and North Carolina will result in more severe penalties.
Penalties for Second Offenses
Penalties for a second offense increase to civil penalties of $100 and license reinstatement fees of $50. Outside of that, a person’s registration can be suspended for up to 30 days. Jail time for up to 45 days or probation can also be given depending on the seriousness of the offense and surrounding circumstances.
Additional offenses result in a civil penalty of $150, a license reinstatement fee of $50, registration suspension for up to 30 days, and potential jail time or probation depending on the circumstances.
Penalties For Driving Without Insurance In An Accident
While they are not considered penalties, there are many other expenses that can come from driving without an automobile insurance policy in the state of North Carolina. This can include massive expenses related to medical bills and damage to expensive vehicles. Being held liable for these expenses and not having a valid auto insurance policy to help cover costs can lead to financial difficulties that last an extremely long time.
Whether you are involved in an accident or not, the expenses that are associated with not having adequate car insurance coverage to cover the mandated amounts required by law in the state of North Carolina can end up costing a lot more than paying for insurance policies themselves. With potential jail time also an option, drivers should not risk driving without valid auto insurance.
Fortunately, this is a fantastic place to get free quotes on car insurance and find the top auto insurance plans to fit your needs. By comparing multiple insurance policies from different car insurance companies, you can get the best prices for auto insurance to protect yourself and avoid having to deal with penalties, fines, car crash expenses, and other consequences.
Take the time to protect yourself financially by getting a top automobile insurance plan and making sure that your coverage does not lapse.
Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Colorado
Most states have a requirement for drivers to show proof of insurance when it is requested in certain situations. Not being able to provide...
Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Ohio
Like most other states, Ohio has minimum limits for car insurance plans that are required by drivers for them to drive legally in the state....
Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Illinois
Driving without car insurance coverage can be a costly endeavor, as the fees and penalties that most states hand out for violations are larg...
Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Florida
No matter what state you are driving in, the penalties for driving without insurance can be very steep. Some states have heavier penalties t...
Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Texas
Under Texas law, it is illegal for a person to drive a motor vehicle without proof of financial responsibility. In most cases, people get au...
Leave a comment