Penalties for Driving without Insurance in New Jersey
New Jersey is the country’s most densely populated state, is the diner capital of the world, and is also the home of Atlantic City. Atlantic City has the longest boardwalk in the world, but it is nothing in comparison to the thousands of miles of roads that crisscross the state. To drive on these roads, you will need the minimum requirements for automobile insurance in New Jersey. The Garden State has penalties for people who choose to drive with no insurance policy, and the penalties can be pretty steep.
In addition, getting involved in an automobile accident without insurance that is active can lead to immense financial difficulty and incredibly expensive bills. To prevent penalties, fees, and expenses related to being in automobile accidents, people purchase auto insurance policies. Getting the cheapest prices on car insurance plans is a smart idea, and the tools on the site can help you comparison shop. In addition, you can get free quotes and take advantage of the many other tools that are here.
Penalties For Driving Without Insurance
Penalties for driving without insurance in New Jersey can include fines, fees, suspended driver’s licenses, suspended registrations, and jail time. Drivers who are driving without insurance risk losing their driver’s license for one to two years, or even permanently for people who are found to be habitual offenders. Knowing what the penalties are for a first offense, second offense, and subsequent offenses can help you understand how important it is to carry an adequate automobile insurance policy.
Penalties For A First Offense
Penalties for a first offense violation for driving with no insurance policy include fines of between $300 to 1,000, as well as an additional $250 fee that is applied each of the next three years, totaling another $750. It is possible for a person’s driver’s license to be suspended for a full year, depending on the situation. In addition, community service can be required by the court in order for a person to have their driver’s license reinstated. Other penalties that can come with a first offense include vehicle impoundment, which leads to additional fees in order to retrieve the impounded vehicle.
Penalties for Second Offenses
Penalties for a second offense for driving without valid insurance in the state of New Jersey are higher than the penalties for a first offense. The fines associated with a second offense can range between $500 and $5,000, and still has the added $250 surcharge assessment for each of the following three years. In addition, a person’s driving license can be suspended for up to two full years, with reinstatement up to the DMV director. Up to 180 hours of community service can also be assigned, as well as possible vehicle impoundment and/or jail time.
Subsequent offenses usually stay within around the same range as the penalties for a second offense but can get more severe within that range.
Penalties For Driving Without Insurance In An Accident
Another thing to keep in mind if you are thinking about driving without insurance in the state of New Jersey is the immense fees that can come from being found at fault in a car accident. Sometimes aspects of life are uncontrollable, and when it comes to car crashes, these unexpected situations can end up costing people large amounts of money. Automobile insurance provides protection against potential financial difficulties that can arise from having to pay for other people’s medical bills, damage to other people’s property, and more.
Overall, people can end up spending a lot more money because they were driving without a car insurance policy. Find the best deals for car insurance, as well as the top policies to suit your needs using the tools on this website. Getting a free quote for auto insurance can help you find the best auto insurance plans for your needs. Start today.
Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Colorado
Most states have a requirement for drivers to show proof of insurance when it is requested in certain situations. Not being able to provide...
Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Illinois
Driving without car insurance coverage can be a costly endeavor, as the fees and penalties that most states hand out for violations are larg...
Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Kentucky
Kentucky is a landlocked state that has freeways and highways leading to many other states and fantastic places. The state itself has beauti...
Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Ohio
Like most other states, Ohio has minimum limits for car insurance plans that are required by drivers for them to drive legally in the state....
Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Florida
No matter what state you are driving in, the penalties for driving without insurance can be very steep. Some states have heavier penalties t...