Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Minnesota
Minnesota requires all people driving in the state to be able to show proof of financial responsibility when requested by law enforcement officers during times when they are pulled over or at accidents. If you are issued a citation, you will have ten days to produce required proof of insurance. If you are able to do so, no penalties are assessed, but if you are unable to do so or did not have insurance at the time of the citation, you may be assessed fees and penalties. In order to avoid these fees and penalties, you will want to make sure that you are carrying the minimum amounts of insurance required in the state.
The requirements for car insurance in Minnesota include liability coverage, uninsured motorist coverage, and underinsured motorist coverage. For bodily injury coverage, drivers have required minimum limits of $30,000 per person and $60,000 per accident that need to be met. In addition, property damage coverage in the amount of $10,000 per accident minimum is also mandated. Uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage need to be in the amounts of at least $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in order to fulfill the requirements of the state.
Penalties For Driving Without Insurance
If these requirements are not fulfilled, penalties can be assessed. These can include fines, fees, driving license suspension, the requirement to file and carry an SR-22 certificate, and possible jail time. The penalties for driving without insurance increase based on the severity of the offense and the number of offenses that have previously occurred.
Penalties For A First Offense
For people who fail to provide proof of insurance when requested by law enforcement officers at traffic stops or at the scene of an accident, they will be fined between $200 and $1,000 for the first offense. In addition, their driver’s license, registration, and license plates can be suspended for up to 30 days or more depending on the circumstances. Having your driver’s license reinstated will have an additional cost of a $30 reinstatement fee. Additionally, there is a chance that you could see jail time in addition to the fine or receive other penalties given by the court. The courts also decide whether your vehicle will be impounded based on the circumstances surrounding the offense.
Penalties for Second Offenses
The penalties for a second offense are the same as the penalties for the first offense, but the court system is more likely to put additional penalties in beyond fines and fees. This includes a higher likelihood of longer driver’s license suspension, a higher likelihood of possible jail time, and a higher likelihood that your vehicle will be impounded, depending on the situation.
It is considered a gross misdemeanor if a third offense occurs within ten years of two convictions for driving without insurance in the state. A person’s driver’s license, registration, and license plate can be suspended for up to one year or more, and you will still have to pay a $30 reinstatement fee to get them back. Drivers with multiple offenses have an increased likelihood of jail time and maximum fines up to $3,000. It is also more likely that a person’s vehicle will be impounded if multiple offenses have occurred.
Penalties For Driving Without Insurance In An Accident
There is also a higher likelihood that a person’s vehicle will be impounded or that they will see jail time if they are caught driving without insurance and are in an accident. This depends on the accident and the circumstances surrounding it. People can have very large expenses that will need to be paid in terms of medical bills and property damage if they do not have insurance, making it even more important to find a top car insurance policy using the free auto insurance quotes on this website.
Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Pennsylvania
In Pennsylvania, whether you are a resident or not, you are required to carry an automobile insurance policy if you are going to be operatin...
Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Ohio
Like most other states, Ohio has minimum limits for car insurance plans that are required by drivers for them to drive legally in the state....
Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Florida
No matter what state you are driving in, the penalties for driving without insurance can be very steep. Some states have heavier penalties t...
Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Georgia
Like every other state, Georgia has minimum requirements in terms of how much car insurance drivers must have in order to legally drive in t...
Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Arizona
Arizona is a fantastic state to live and has many roads laid out across the state that show natural beauty around them. Driving in the state...
Leave a comment