Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Maryland
Maryland has a financial responsibility law, and this law requires that people who want to register their vehicles in the state have car insurance before registration is allowed. The minimum requirements the state requires include $30,000 for bodily injury coverage per person and $60,000 of bodily injury coverage per accident. In addition, Maryland requires that drivers have $15,000 of property damage liability coverage. There are severe penalties for not having a valid automobile insurance policy while driving in the state.
Penalties For Driving Without Insurance
Drivers are required to present proof of insurance to law-enforcement officials if they are pulled over or involved in an accident. Driving with no insurance in Maryland can result in penalties of up to $2,000 in fines, not including administrative fees for each day a driver does not have a valid insurance policy. In addition, a person’s driver’s license can be suspended and/or revoked, and people with multiple offenses and in specific circumstances may face up to two years in jail.
Not directly related to these penalties, drivers can see their auto insurance policy premiums go up if they are caught driving without insurance in the state. It is essential to know that insurance companies report to the MVA in Maryland whenever an insurance policy is not renewed or is canceled.
Penalties For A First Offense
For a first offense, drivers will receive a $1,000 fine. If they provide false evidence of car insurance, they could face jail time as well. Other fees that can come for first-time offenders are administrative penalties for lapses in insurance. Drivers will also receive five points on their driver’s license, affecting their driving record and potentially increasing the rates that they will be paying on future car insurance premiums.
Penalties for Second Offenses
The maximum jail time increases to two years for a second violation of the financial responsibility laws in Maryland. Also, the person’s driver’s license can be suspended, and they can have up to $2,000 or more in fines and fees. In addition, another five points will be added to their license which cannot only increase what auto insurance companies will charge for a policy, but will also result in being issued a Notice of Suspension.
To get your driver’s license back, you may be required to enroll in a Driver Improvement Program.
In regards to subsequent offenses after the second, the amount of jail time served can increase, as can the financial penalties. Driver’s license suspension can be extended, and possibly revoked. The MVA may also require you to enroll in a Driver Improvement Program.
Penalties For Driving Without Insurance In An Accident
The penalties for driving without car insurance in Maryland are high, but one of the things that can become even more expensive is the costs you could be required to pay towards other people’s medical bills or damage to their property. The state of Maryland also has administrative penalties, which can be stacked up and end up costing a lot of money in the long run.
Whether or not you have been caught without insurance, you will want to make sure you are following all of the tips to find the cheapest car insurance policy to suit your needs. This includes using the tools on this site to shop around for the best prices for car insurance in Maryland. Additionally, you will want to look into potential discounts that are available and make sure that they are all applied. The tools on this website can help you do this quickly and efficiently. Of course, keeping your driving record clean will also lead to lower rates overall.
Penalties for Driving without Insurance in California
Driving without automobile insurance can lead to incredibly large expenses for you or the other drivers if you are in a car crash. Costs can...
Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Texas
Under Texas law, it is illegal for a person to drive a motor vehicle without proof of financial responsibility. In most cases, people get au...
Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Michigan
Every state in the country requires that people carry automobile insurance policies on them when driving in order to drive legally in their...
Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Ohio
Like most other states, Ohio has minimum limits for car insurance plans that are required by drivers for them to drive legally in the state....
Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Massachusetts
Massachusetts is a place that many people go to raise their families. It is one of the smaller states in the country but is known worldwide....
Leave a comment