Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Indiana
The penalties in Indiana are designed to be steep so that people will be motivated to get automobile insurance. This means that the penalties are much higher than the costs of insurance in many cases. Knowing the penalties is important.
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance
The state of Indiana has mandatory car insurance requirements that come with severe penalties for people who violate car insurance law in the state. The Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles has many options in terms of penalties, including fines and fees, tickets, reinstatement fees, driver’s license suspension, and SR-22 auto insurance requirements that can last for three years or more.
The minimum requirements for automobile insurance in the state of Indiana do not include every type of automobile insurance that is available. The bare minimum drivers need to carry in order to drive legally in the state include $25,000 in bodily injury protection per person and $50,000 in bodily injury coverage for all persons per accident. $25,000 in property liability coverage is also required, and there are a few other requirements as well. These include $25,000 for uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage per person per accident and $50,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage for all persons per accident. Additionally, uninsured motorist property damage in the amount of $10,000 and underinsured motorist bodily injury coverage in the amount of $50,000 are required.
In addition to these minimum limits for car insurance, other types of insurance are available to protect drivers further. Many drivers also get more than the minimum limit for liability coverage and uninsured motorist coverage. Other insurance coverages that people purchase include collision insurance coverage, comprehensive insurance coverage, lease gap insurance coverage, Roadside assistance coverage, and more.
Penalties For A First Offense
In addition to getting a ticket, the first offense for driving with no insurance in Indiana will also require a $250 driver’s license reinstatement fee to be paid. In addition, a driver can have their license suspended for at least 90 days. In more major cases, they will need to file and carry an SR-22 certificate for three years.
Drivers in the state of Indiana are required to be able to provide proof of financial responsibility, which carrying the minimum limits for car insurance coverage in the state fulfills, if they are pulled over by a law-enforcement officer the or in an automobile accident.
Penalties for Second Offenses
For people who have had a second offense, the penalties grow in severity. In addition to initial fines, people driving without insurance and being caught for a second time will have a raised reinstatement fee of $500. Their driver’s license can be suspended for one year, as well as their vehicle registration. The requirement to file and carry and SR-22 certificate for three years is also an option, as well as others too.
Third offenses, in addition to other subsequent offenses, lead to even steeper penalties, including a $1,000 driver’s license reinstatement fee. In addition to this, a person’s driver’s license can be suspended for one year, as well as the registration a driver has. The requirement for carrying an SR-22 certificate for five years is likely.
Penalties For Driving Without Insurance In An Accident
The penalties for driving without an insurance policy in Indiana can lead to increased penalties. Also, other expenses can stem from being liable to cover bodily injury expenses, including the medical bills of the people in other cars if you are found at fault in an accident. Damage to property can add to these expenses, leading to a large amount of debt or a drained bank account.
Find the best insurance policies for your situation on this site, so get your free quotes today to find the best prices for car insurance in Indiana.
Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Maryland
Maryland has a financial responsibility law, and this law requires that people who want to register their vehicles in the state have car ins...
Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Georgia
Like every other state, Georgia has minimum requirements in terms of how much car insurance drivers must have in order to legally drive in t...
Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Michigan
Every state in the country requires that people carry automobile insurance policies on them when driving in order to drive legally in their...
Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Kentucky
Kentucky is a landlocked state that has freeways and highways leading to many other states and fantastic places. The state itself has beauti...
Penalties for Driving without Insurance in North Carolina
People who are caught driving with no insurance policy in North Carolina will face fines, fees, and possible jail time. The North Carolina M...