Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Illinois
Driving without car insurance coverage can be a costly endeavor, as the fees and penalties that most states hand out for violations are large ones. The minimum coverage required for driving legally in the state of Illinois include minimum limit amounts of $25,000 for bodily injury liability coverage per person, $50,000 for bodily injury per accident, and $25,000 for property damage coverage. While it can be rejected in writing, drivers are also otherwise required to carry uninsured motorist coverage and underinsured motorist coverage with the same minimum limits.
Many drivers choose to get additional types of insurance to further protect themselves. Different types of drivers insurance policies that go above and beyond the minimum amounts required by the state include collision coverage, comprehensive coverage, medical payments coverage, lease gap insurance coverage, and more. Not having these types of insurance and driving is not illegal, but they can be beneficial either way.
Penalties For Driving Without Insurance
People who fail to carry adequate auto insurance coverage can be punished by hefty fines, but for drivers in Illinois, penalties do not include jail time. That said, if you are caught driving without insurance, you could face fines up to $1,000, depending on if it is the first, second, or subsequent offenses.
Penalties For A First Offense
The penalties for first-time offenders include a fine between $500 to $1,000, with an additional $1,000 fine possible for people caught driving with suspended plates due to an insurance violation. In addition, a person’s driver’s license and registration can be suspended for up to three months. A $100 reinstatement fee may also be applied.
Penalties For Second Offenses
The penalties for second-time offenders are the same as the first, with an increased likelihood that the driver would be driving on suspended plates due to an insurance violation and get the additional $1,000 fine. There is also a $100 reinstatement fee for people who are caught a second time driving without insurance in the state of Illinois. In addition, subsequent offenses get drastically more expensive.
For subsequent offenses, a $1,000 fine is assessed, along with another $1,000 fine if the person is caught driving with suspended plates due to a violation of insurance law. Also, if you have already been convicted twice and involved in an accident, there is an additional $2,500 fee. A person’s driver’s license and registration could be suspended for up to four months, and proof of financial responsibility through an SR-22 certificate is required for the next three years. There is also a $100 reinstatement fee that will be assessed.
Penalties For Driving Without Insurance In An Accident
Driving without automobile insurance can result in larger fees if you are involved in an accident. In addition, you will be held responsible for payments that the insurance policy you do not have would’ve normally covered. These expenses can be incredibly high, which is something to keep in mind if you are considering driving without automobile insurance. The costs of not having a car insurance plan can be drastically higher than the costs of the plan itself overall.
It is important to look into how to save money on car insurance plans, and the best way to do that is by comparison shopping for insurance on this website. Get free car insurance quotes, which will help you find the best prices for car insurance available. You will also want to consider all of the discounts you might qualify for, as well as the customer service of the companies you are considering when selecting a policy.
Penalties for Driving without Insurance in North Carolina
People who are caught driving with no insurance policy in North Carolina will face fines, fees, and possible jail time. The North Carolina M...
Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Oregon
There is so much beauty in Oregon, a state that is filled with incredible people, pristine nature, and a quarter of United States llama popu...
Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Massachusetts
Massachusetts is a place that many people go to raise their families. It is one of the smaller states in the country but is known worldwide....
Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Arizona
Arizona is a fantastic state to live and has many roads laid out across the state that show natural beauty around them. Driving in the state...
Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Kentucky
Kentucky is a landlocked state that has freeways and highways leading to many other states and fantastic places. The state itself has beauti...