Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Georgia
Like every other state, Georgia has minimum requirements in terms of how much car insurance drivers must have in order to legally drive in the state, as well as which types of car insurance are mandated. Drivers who try to get by without insurance can find themselves overwhelmed with penalties and fees, in addition to other expenses that are associated with car accidents if one occurs. A car insurance policy is designed to protect people in case a car crash happens, and the financial help can be a godsend.
Penalties For Driving Without Insurance
The penalties for driving without insurance in Georgia can be pretty steep. They depend on the circumstances of getting caught and can include fines, fees, jail time, loss of driving privileges, loss of vehicle registration, and more. In addition, getting caught driving without insurance in the state can increase the amount you pay when you go to get a car insurance policy in the future.
People who have terminated their car insurance policies, or allowed them to expire, will have their names submitted to the Georgia Department of Driver Services. After this happens, drivers are given 30 days to provide proof of new insurance. If no proof of insurance is provided within this period, fees will be assessed, and their driver’s license could be suspended.
Penalties For A First Offense
The penalties for a first offense in Georgia including $25 lapse fee, a $60 reinstatement fee, a driver’s license and registration suspension of up to 60 days, and up to one year in jail. Depending on the circumstances of the offense, one or more of these penalties may be applied. It is required that drivers in the state of Georgia carry proof of insurance on them when they drive and are able to provide it to any law enforcement officer during traffic stops or at the scene of an accident.
Penalties for Second Offenses
For a second offense, the lapse fee and reinstatement fee stay the same, and a driver’s license and registration can be suspended for up to 90 days. Drivers can also face up to one year in jail, depending on the circumstances.
For situations where a person has had a third offense, and for each subsequent offense after that, there is a $25 lapse fee, a $160 reinstatement fee, and the person's driver’s license and registration could be suspended for up to six months or more. Drivers can also be penalized with up to one year in jail.
Penalties For Driving Without Insurance In An Accident
People who are in an accident and driving without insurance could face larger penalties and consequences. In addition to the penalties brought forth by the state of Georgia, drivers can also be held liable for expenses related to the bodily injury of others, as well as damage to their property. Because of this, many drivers decide to get additional automobile insurance coverage to help cover costs that go above and beyond what the minimum amount of insurance mandated by the state covers.
Other types of insurance that people consider include collision insurance coverage, comprehensive insurance coverage, lease gap coverage, uninsured motorist coverage, underinsured motorist coverage, roadside assistance, and medical payments insurance, among others.
The best ways to save money on an automobile insurance plan is to compare policies from multiple companies. This website has the tools to get you free quotes for auto insurance in Georgia so that you can find the best prices for car insurance in the state. Getting the top prices for auto insurance is part of the equation, but you can also get information on car insurance companies about their customer service rankings and financial strength, all right here.
Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Massachusetts
Massachusetts is a place that many people go to raise their families. It is one of the smaller states in the country but is known worldwide....
Penalties for Driving without Insurance in South Carolina
Not having a car insurance plan has had major negative impacts on many people’s lives. In addition to possibly being found guilty of a...
Penalties for Driving without Insurance in California
Driving without automobile insurance can lead to incredibly large expenses for you or the other drivers if you are in a car crash. Costs can...
Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Washington
One of the major concerns that people have is not having enough money in their bank account. Sometimes life can be a struggle, but major exp...
Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Florida
No matter what state you are driving in, the penalties for driving without insurance can be very steep. Some states have heavier penalties t...