Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Florida
No matter what state you are driving in, the penalties for driving without insurance can be very steep. Some states have heavier penalties than others, and the fines for driving without car insurance in Florida can be quite high. Considering this when choosing whether or not to pay for an automobile insurance policy is important.
It is also vital to keep in mind that many expenses can come from being in an automobile accident and not having insurance. Driving with no car insurance policy in Florida can lead to an empty wallet, an empty bank account, and large amounts of debt. In order to avoid the situation, you will want to know not only the minimum requirements for automobile insurance in the state, but also what the penalties for driving with no insurance plan are.
The minimum requirements for automobile insurance coverage in Florida include bodily injury coverage in the amounts of $10,000 per person and $20,000 per accident, property damage coverage in the amount of $10,000 per accident, uninsured motorist coverage in the amounts of $10,000 per person and $20,000 per accident, and personal injury protection with a minimum of $10,000. While these are the minimum limits for automobile insurance in the state, many people choose to get larger amounts of coverage to better protect themselves financially if an accident occurs.
Penalties For Driving Without Insurance
Penalties for driving without insurance in the state of Florida are hefty, leading to large fines, a risk of license suspension, a risk of your car being impounded, and other penalties as well.
Penalties For A First Offense
While the first offense penalties for driving without insurance in the state of Florida are lower than subsequent offenses, they can still empty your wallet. In addition to getting a ticket for driving without insurance, you will also need to pay a reinstatement fee from between $150 and $500.
Penalties for Second Offenses
The penalties for second offenses are more severe and first offenses. The reinstatement fee is $250 instead of $150, and other penalties can also be applied. Keep in mind that insurance companies notify the state of when people’s insurance policies lapse, increasing the likelihood that a person will be caught if driving without insurance.
The Department of Highway Safety and Motor vehicles can also revoke your vehicle tags, registration, and driver’s license with a suspension of up to three years or until you purchase a valid auto insurance policy that meets the requirements.
Penalties For Driving Without Insurance In An Accident
The penalties for driving without insurance can be costly, but so can the expenses that come from getting into a car crash while not having a car insurance policy. Including legal fees, as well as expenses associated with medical injuries of other drivers and damage to other people’s property, the expenses can add up quickly.
The best way to avoid these costly situations is by maintaining a valid automobile insurance policy. You can get the best rates for car insurance using the tools on the site. Finding the cheapest companies for car insurance in Florida starts with comparison-shopping right here.
Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Kentucky
Kentucky is a landlocked state that has freeways and highways leading to many other states and fantastic places. The state itself has beauti...
Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Texas
Under Texas law, it is illegal for a person to drive a motor vehicle without proof of financial responsibility. In most cases, people get au...
Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Georgia
Like every other state, Georgia has minimum requirements in terms of how much car insurance drivers must have in order to legally drive in t...
Penalties for Driving without Insurance in North Carolina
People who are caught driving with no insurance policy in North Carolina will face fines, fees, and possible jail time. The North Carolina M...
Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Colorado
Most states have a requirement for drivers to show proof of insurance when it is requested in certain situations. Not being able to provide...