Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Arizona
Arizona is a fantastic state to live and has many roads laid out across the state that show natural beauty around them. Driving in the state can be a complete joy, and fortunately for people who own vehicles in the state, the average cost for insurance in Arizona is lower than the national average. Even so, people who own vehicles should shop around and find the best prices for car insurance by comparing multiple companies, getting the best discounts available, and keeping their driving record good.
Sometimes people do consider not purchasing an automobile insurance policy in order to try to save money. This can lead to spending a lot more money overall, which is why it is important to know what the penalties for driving with no insurance policy in Arizona are.
Penalties For Driving Without Insurance
Arizona has serious penalties for violations of car insurance laws in the state. In addition to the $500 or more fine, drivers can lose their driving privileges and be required to file an SR-22 certificate for two years or more. Arizona has a Financial Responsibility Law, which requires drivers to carry a minimum amount of liability insurance.
The minimum insurance amounts required by the state include $15,000 for bodily injury liability per person and $30,000 of bodily injury liability per accident. In addition, the state mandates that drivers carry $10,000 of property damage liability coverage. Driving without insurance coverage of these types and in these amounts can lead to hefty fines and fees, and more. Also, not having coverage can result in the suspension of your license and if you are in an automobile accident and found at fault, you can be held liable for property damage expenses and medical bills that add up quickly.
Penalties For A First Offense
The penalties for the first offense for driving with no insurance in the state of Arizona include a $500 fine, a suspension of registration, driver’s license, and license plates for up to three months or more, and the possibility of having to file for and carry an SR-22 certificate for two years. In order to reinstate their driver’s license, a $35 fee will be added.
Penalties for Second Offenses
Penalties for a second offense get steeper, with a fine of $250. In addition, a person’s driver’s license, registration, and license plates can be suspended for up to six months or more. A person may be required to carry an SR-22 certificate for two years. To reinstate a driver’s license, there is a fee of $35 as well.
Subsequent offenses also see an increase in fines, with a fine of $1,000. Drivers with multiple offenses also run the risk of their driver’s license, registration, and license plates being suspended for one year. The requirement to carry an SR-22 certificate for two years is still in place, as is the $35 fee for a person to reinstate their driver’s license.
Penalties For Driving Without Insurance In An Accident
People who get into an accident and do not have insurance are more likely to see larger penalties overall. Also, there are many other expenses that can come from being in an automobile accident, especially if you are found to be at fault for the accident. These can include medical bills for other people, property damage to other people’s property, and legal expenses to represent yourself if there is a need.
Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Florida
No matter what state you are driving in, the penalties for driving without insurance can be very steep. Some states have heavier penalties t...
Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Kentucky
Kentucky is a landlocked state that has freeways and highways leading to many other states and fantastic places. The state itself has beauti...
Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Minnesota
Minnesota requires all people driving in the state to be able to show proof of financial responsibility when requested by law enforcement of...
Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Massachusetts
Massachusetts is a place that many people go to raise their families. It is one of the smaller states in the country but is known worldwide....
Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Oklahoma
People do not like consequences, but it is extremely important that drivers have an automobile insurance policy when driving in the state of...